Why you can’t work at work

Earlier this year, I decided that I would go back to running my consultancy business from my home office, instead of continuing to rent a ‘proper office’ elsewhere. By a proper office, I mean a place with receptionists, phones, cubicles, coffee machines, huddles, people having a smoke on the terrace.

One morning, at the end of another meeting that had gone nowhere, I realised that I was missing my ‘real office’, where I could do things at my own pace, and engage when it suited me. And that if need to have business meetings in a place other than my farmhouse, these are best held either at the client location, or somewhere more human, over a cappuccino.

Jason Fried from 37Signals is in the news right now because of his excellent book, excellent products and more. Click on this link for his video on how he manages his company. And why the way we normally go about our day in ‘the office’ is hardly ever conducive to either productivity. Or creativity.

This entry was posted in Getting organised and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

